California | Cannabis Law | PotSaver
You may or may not be aware, but a new change has come to the laws regarding cannabis. It’s officially legalized for recreational use and able to be purchased by adults 21 years and older from legal recreational dispensaries. “Medical Cannabis” is still around, though! It allows adults 18 years and older with medical needs to purchase cannabis with a valid medical cannabis doctor’s recommendation.
California initially had Proposition 215 for medical cannabis pass in 1996. In November of 2016, the Medical and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act was voted into approval by the people, known as Proposition 64. California has had over 20 years of dealing with the legality and complicated rules of cannabis, which only made settling into recreational use a not so smooth process for specifics. This proposition officially came into effect on January 1, 2018.
Educating yourself on how this will affect access to cannabis products, legal standing, and other factors that could change is important. This could affect your lifestyle and how you medicate. They are predicting more showroom, lounge, and boutique styled shops and displays to pop up to cater to the new wave of clientele that this new legality offers.
Bureau of Cannabis Control
Starting with legal dispensaries and retailers, they will need a license issued by the Bureau of Cannabis Control (before called Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation) and permission from local authorities to operate. Some companies having temporary ones lasting up to four months. Cultivators will need to separate what is medical (M = Medical) and recreational (A = Adult Use) cannabis, as well as dispensaries having an A license or M license (they can have both).
Since cannabis is still a Schedule 1 drug in the eyes of federal government, banks are still unlikely to offer services. Although the legality and regulations may be new, it comes with something that is familiar to us all… Taxes. These are said to be used in supporting the state and eventually, local communities. Some dispensaries and retailers are looking at a 15% state excise tax and a 9.5% county sales. These taxes could also include business, growing, distribution and selling taxes that could revenue up to one-billion dollars toward California (a predicted 50 million in taxes from L.A. alone). Checking prices before, or during purchase (taxes included or not), is key to saving a few bucks, though medical patients will be exempt from sales tax.
After paying the government, all access to excess tax money is reported to go to UC San Diego Center for Medicinal Cannabis Research, California Highway Patrol to establish DUI Protocols, California Public University legalization research, and area affected by criminalization. Any additional will be going to drug education, treatment, prevention with youth, state and local law enforcement, and environmental damage by pre-regulation grow operations.
What Can Recreational Consumers Do?
Legally, recreational users are allowed to possess, transport, and share up to one ounce of cannabis, eight ounces of concentrate, and grow up to six plants within their home. There are some laws that have been in effect since November of 2016. One states that having an open cannabis container has a fine of $250 dollars. Another as of September 2017 states that there is a $70 fine for smoking or consuming cannabis while driving. Smoking cannabis in general public has a $100 fine and can raise to $250 for smoking in places where tobacco is banned. Examples would be in front of stores, restaurants, or any place with a non-smoking sign.
DUI testing for cannabis and other related arrests are still in the air, considering what really relates an actual intoxication level and any bias behaviors with police enforcement. This doesn’t include the fact that the federal government has no solid regulations on how to handle any cannabis-related problems or legality in the matter.
Some other new rules include edible products downsizing from 10 milligrams per serving and maximum of 100 milligrams per package (with child resistant packaging). Shops are only able to give free cannabis to medical patients or their caregivers. Events and businesses need special licenses to host events. Costs for transporting cannabis range from $800 to $120,000 dollars and they even dictate how many small farms one person can have. The way everyone handles these new laws and regulations is key into displaying how functional and flexible the cannabis and hemp industry can be. As long as everyone follows the rules and can act civilized with one another, everyone now should be able to medicate safely and freely within their lives.